Tuesday, 31 January 2017 18:13

Don’t delete your photos after turning on iCloud Photo Library

Retreived by
Rate this item
(0 votes)
Macworld

I recently wrote a Mac 911 column titled, “Yes, if you delete your photos from iCloud Photo Library, they’re deleted everywhere.” I thought that might close the door on the question. Instead, I continue to get perfectly reasonable variants on it.

If you have iCloud Photo Library enabled, and want to clear out space occupied by photos and other media:

  • Do not delete images or videos from iCloud.com.
  • Do not delete images or videos from the Photos app in iOS for any device logged into the same iCloud account.
  • Do not delete images or videos from Photos for macOS for any computer logged into the same iCloud account.
  • Do not go into the Recently Deleted album and delete media.

If you delete in any of the first three cases, your media will be put into the Recently Deleted album and deleted after about a month permanently. If you delete the contents of the Recently Deleted album, they’re gone forever.

With that out of the way, Christos Papage did have a unique twist on this question that comes at it from the other direction.

My iPhone’s storage space is full. I have bought 50 GB of cloud storage from Apple in order to upload all of my photos/videos to iCloud, and then delete them from my iPhone in order to have some free space available on my iPhone.

(The article continues...)

 

 

Don’t delete your photos after turning on iCloud Photo Library published on
Read 49 times
SPEEDEE

SPEEDEE spends his day searching the internet for the information you need to better use your Mac, iPhone, iPad, Apple TV, Apple Watch and all else Apple.

Leave a comment

Make sure you enter all the required information, indicated by an asterisk (*). HTML code is not allowed.