Tuesday, 31 January 2017 18:13

How to delete images from Photos for macOS without getting rid of them Featured

Retreived by
Rate this item
(0 votes)
Macworld

Othman Al Serri writes in with a deliciously existential question:

I have been using iPhoto for the past 8 years. Using it is like a breeze, and it is so flexible with organizing my photos. When deleting photos they just remain in the deleted folder forever, which is perfect so I can always go back and look or recover whichever photo I want.

With the new Photos app, when I delete any photo it goes to the Recently Deleted folder but I am only given 30 days to recover the photos or else it will automatically delete (like iOS)!

I have a 1TB Mac. I don’t want the app to delete anything from the Recently Deleted folder, because I have tons of space. When I do choose to delete them, I want to delete them at my convenience—not automatically.

I confess this is the sort of question your Mac 911 correspondent loves best, because it involves working around Apple’s sometimes odd restrictions and finding a better method that fits your needs precisely.

I’ve heard many, many times from readers about their frustrating with the automatic deletion in Recently Deleted in Photos. The moment you drop an image or video in that folder through any deletion option, a clock starts ticking that runs about 40 days, according to Apple’s message in that album.

(The article continues...)

 

 

How to delete images from Photos for macOS without getting rid of them published on
Read 44 times
SPEEDEE

SPEEDEE spends his day searching the internet for the information you need to better use your Mac, iPhone, iPad, Apple TV, Apple Watch and all else Apple.

Leave a comment

Make sure you enter all the required information, indicated by an asterisk (*). HTML code is not allowed.