Tuesday, 07 March 2017 08:38

What happens to facial recognition and other information when copying a Photos library to a new Mac Featured

Retreived by
Rate this item
(0 votes)
Macworld

Shay Levy has a 115GB Photos library, and has spent years marking faces and entering keywords. Shay is worried that this information will be lost when moving to a new Mac, even though they have iCloud Photo Library enabled.

Since iCloud doesn’t sync face and keyword information, the option to just enable iCloud sync in the new computer is not an option for me.

So how should I solve this? I’m also hoping that I will not have to turn off the option to optimize mac storage on the old computer before moving the library since I currently don’t have enough space for that. But maybe that’s the only option.

Apple says keywords are synced, which I can confirm, as I have two Macs hooked up to iCloud Photo Library. (As noted many times, iOS Photos lacks the ability to view or set keywords, titles, and descriptions, which remains a baffling omission many years into iOS.)

For the moving part, two strategies should work, but without a new machine to test them on and a large chunk of time, I can only suggest them, and you’ll need to check the outcome and have a pathway back to revert to where you were.

(The article continues...)

What happens to facial recognition and other information when copying a Photos library to a new Mac published on
Read 27 times
SPEEDEE

SPEEDEE spends his day searching the internet for the information you need to better use your Mac, iPhone, iPad, Apple TV, Apple Watch and all else Apple.

Leave a comment

Make sure you enter all the required information, indicated by an asterisk (*). HTML code is not allowed.